My parents wouldn’t have taken that from any kid.

Have you noticed that most recent television commercials depict kids talking back to their parents?  Worse yet, dictating to their parents?  When did this become the norm?  I cringe when I see a commercial with a parent asking permission from their child to eat fruit or play a game.  I don’t find these commercials amusing in the least. If I would have tried that as a kid, well, I’ll never know what would’ve happened, I wasn’t that brave. 

My parents probably would have burst out laughing before they strangled me and said, “We’ll eat whatever the hell we want because this. is. OUR. HOUSE.” 

My parents were not perfect, but I sure do commend them in this area.   

I had respect for my parents role as the ONLY adults in the house,

I stayed the hell out of their way when they had company, I didn’t interrupt them every five minutes after they told me not to.  Or interject myself into adult conversations. (Dear parents, This is not cute, it’s rude to your guest.

Anyway, I eavesdropped on adult conversations from my bedroom door like a normal kid.

I didn’t try to tell my parents they couldn’t eat something they had paid for because I claimed it for myself.

I can’t say I never rolled my eyes, I’d be a liar, but I rolled my eyes alone in my room like a sane kid that wanted to live long enough to see another episode of “Tales From The Cript” and “Yo, MTV Raps.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

