If I had been Mary, the nativity would look differently.

If I had been Mary, the figurines people set up depicting the nativity would be a lot different.  For starters, Mary would be dramatically sprawled out on the floor with the back of her hand resting on her forehead and the other tightly clutching the baby’s crib. (Hey, I do possess a strong protective maternal instinct.)  

 Joseph would have both hands running through his hair in frustration because he had watched me kick one leg up in the air followed by,

“Joseph!  You lied to me? My feet did not look ok these past nine months, look at myyyy toenail cuticle?  Come closer, what is that, is that the start of a corn on my third toe?  Oh, well it was all worth it.” 

The wise men would have been farther outside of the manger, because there is no way I would’ve let strange men I didn’t know see me or my feet in that condition, especially so soon after birth.  

That is probably why God didn’t let me live during that time, or choose me to work a miracle, he knew I would have messed the whole thing up…… 

I jest, but what I really mean is: MERRY CHRISTMAS!

2 comments on “If I had been Mary, the nativity would look differently.

Leave a Reply

