John Currin and his provocative art

John Currin 3John Currin 2John Currin

I think John Currin paints beautifully, but I don’t particularly enjoy his art work.  It isn’t the fact that it’s provocative (I wont post those pictures here) it’s that I feel that it doesn’t draw me in or move me.  He can paint flesh so beautifully, it looks picturesque, reminiscent of Renaissance art they say, but I’ll pass.  His art feels like it’s done solely for shock value to me.   I need to feel the passion in a work from an artist, in my opinion, I’ve felt street art that had more depth.  However, art reaches across the divide, there is something for everybody…..if you love John Currin, I think that’s great!

Leave a Reply

