Young people don’t know how to hold a cell phone and they need a pinch on the arm!

When I was shopping this past weekend, I couldn’t believe the amount of young men and women who walk with their cell phone held right in front of their face. They don’t even look around or up to see if they are about to walk into a person or thing?  When I first started my blog, I posted about how rude kids were to elders, expecting older people to move out of their way… Well, this blogger doesn’t move out-of-the-way for any able-bodied punk.  By the second time a girl headed right at me with her cell phone held in front of her face, nearly crashing into me; I decided to get even.  I would stop completely and stick my hand straight out and let them wreck.  I highly recommend you try this!  They would smack right into my hand, drop their phone, gasp, or laugh with embarrassment but none of them apologized or said, “excuse me.” So, I don’t feel badly for coming to a stop with an outstretched palm when I see a little twerp headed straight at me while texting. I didn’t say much myself when they would smack into my hand. I would smile coyly and say, “You didn’t look up, I had to think quickly…smirk.” There were a few people around that were totally onto me and they would smile and give me a thumbs up. Therefore, I know I’m not alone in this irritation!    Afterall, it’s the responsibility of older people to teach young kids a thing or two.  I’m teaching them to look up and why vitamin D is important, my hand stopped 100+ pound kids every time with little effort and no sprained bones. 🙂  You can always tell an older person and an effective parent by cell phone use.  A middle-aged person will still keep their phone in their purse while they text, take the time to sit on a bench, hold it down or off to the side, or lean against a wall to safely finish a text….they leave their phone in their purse or car while enjoying events with friends.  I think the saddest thing I see is kids who are sitting at tables with their phone right in front of their face texting while carrying on a conversation with their parents or ordering their food.  I wish waitresses could say,  “If you can’t put down your cell phone long enough to order, I don’t have the time to serve you.”   If I had done that to my parents as a teen, I would have lost my phone privileges, been pinched like hell in the arm and cussed at a little, in a low voice; in a foreign language Id forgotten my parents spoke.  And you know what?  It worked.  I learned to give someone my full attention while being introduced to them, I learned that its polite to speak clearly to a waitress and to always thank her for serving me.  I learned that it is polite to always move out-of-the-way of an older person and to watch where you are going.  The world doesn’t need Google Glass it’s needs more mothers pinching the hell out of their child’s arm.  There are some polite kids though,  they try to be discreet and texted under the table or off to the side.(Hats off to those parents!) For the meantime, if you come walking toward me with a cell phone held up to your nose on the sidewalk, the mall, or anywhere else, I will not move out of your way. Do we understand each other? I’m going to squirt hand sanitizer all over my hand and let you walk right into that mess and then move OUT OF MY WAY.  You’re ignoring the wrong middle-aged woman while walking and texting kiddo! 

 

5 comments on “Young people don’t know how to hold a cell phone and they need a pinch on the arm!

  1. run4joy59 says:

    I work in retail…one of the things that bothers me the most is when I’m running register and a customer talks on the phone during the entire transaction…I used to speak softly to them, trying not to interrupt their conversation. Now I just don’t care. I just continue the transaction in my normal fashion acting like they’re not even on the phone.

    • middleagedyo says:

      You’re right! I forgot that one and I dislike that behavior just as much. IF I were you, I would stop ringing them up and walk away. When they huff and puff about it, I would say, ” I thought I would wait until you were paying attention so you would know I returned the correct change…” lol (run4joy59, you have more patience than I do!)

  2. charcoalblue says:

    Once the common sense of paying attention to what one is doing is eradicated from the human race, you can safely assume there won’t be any manners or politeness left. Soon people will be able to rent themselves out as ‘listeners’ because it will be such a novelty. They will be trained to keep eye contact, provide non-verbal responses to show they are listening and ask relevant questions. I wish I were joking.

  3. SuSuBee says:

    Yea there are no more family conventions, traditions anymore. Phones should be monitored by parents anyhow–parents nowadays are relieved that they have a built in sitter so they can do what they want too instead of help Joey with his homework… You keep wising them up GF!

Leave a Reply

