Dear blogger, you’re a jerk.

There may not be rules for blogging, but there are unspoken common courtesy codes that necessitate implementation and recognition.  Believe it or not, you can tell a lot about a person by their blog.  For instance, an ill-mannered person expects people to follow their blog, promote them, read what they post, hit the like button and comment.  However, they feel it unnecessary to follow back or occasionally hit the like button for any other blogs.  That is such a jerk move.  Of course you can’t follow everybody that follows you, and you may not want to based on interest alone, but what is wrong with common courtesy?  If a person has repeatedly liked your post and recommended your site for awards etc.  is it o.k. to completely ignore them and expect them to continue supporting you?  I say , “No, it is not o.k. to ignore another person this way.”  You may say, “So what? We aren’t friends, I don’t know these people…I blog for myself…etc.”  I would say, “That is a lie.”.  We all blog to touch another person, whether it be sharing, inspiring, connecting, entertaining or learning more about yourself in the process.  A blog should be no place for a selfish person.  To disregard a person who has taken time out of their life to comment or hit a like button for your page is rude.  When you blog,  you put a piece of your mind out there, I find it counterproductive and disrespectful to not show thankfulness for the appreciation of your very own thought process.  I for one, could never disregard a person this way in my day-to-day life, much less my blog.  I’ve watched enough Oprah shows to know, “When people show you who they really are believe them the first time.”-Maya Angelou They will not change, the ugliness you saw; will remain.  So to you asshole, I say, “I really enjoy your blog, but I will not waste my index finger on the “like button” of your page again. There are kind, soulful bloggers out there who will be encouraged and appreciate being heard, understood and acknowledged.  Those are the type of people I want in my blogging community.  Big ups to the bloggers that are not just in it for themselves.  I enjoy our time together, I am rooting for you, excited for your goals, laughing with you, hoping the best for you, grieving with you, trying out that recipe….listening to that music you posted….experimenting with that outfit idea….trying that craft……etc……

4 comments on “Dear blogger, you’re a jerk.

  1. charcoalblue says:

    I agree, there should be no exceptions to common courtesy.

  2. 2cupsofjoe says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, seem like I need to make some adjustments.

Leave a Reply

