What I learned from my trip to Sequoia National Park

Park 2

Looks scary huh? Trust me if you go in July it’s so hot you won’t care if bats start flying out of this thing you will like it! Because it is 55 degrees in there!
Park 8
Park 9

Park 6

RANGER ANNA!! YOU WOULD LOVE HER!!
Park 5

Park 4

THIS KID IS GOING TO GROW UP TO BE A RANGER, HE WAS SO ATTENTIVE AND JUST SMILED THE ENTIRE TIME AND HE KNEW MORE ABOUT SEQUOIA TREES THAN ANY OF US!
Park 3

Park 2

Park 1

1.  Hydra packs are for pussies.  Roll like me and freeze four water bottles to drink all day and more importantly, they  keep your back cool.(I wore a New Balance nylon light back pack)

2.  Don’t bring kid’s below age 8 on my tour.  They cry, they whine, they don’t care, I wouldn’t either…..I would be thinking, why are my parents torturing meeeeee…? Your kids are not cute when I have to listen to them scream and cry while I am trying to listen for fairies.

3.  The rangers in that park are AMAZING!  Kind, patient, funny, friendly, helpful, especially Anna from North Carolina on the General Grant tree hike.  Every ranger uniform has a Sequoia pine cone on the hat and badge because these trees and their preservation are THAT important!  Even rangers at other parks have these on their uniforms!

4.  Hiking is some serious shiiiiii.  Whoooo, I had to take a breather hiking up to Boyden Cave!  Gaww damn…..you better be ready to hike like a pro or fake it.  Sometimes I would pretend to be a horticulturist if it bought me more time and didn’t let people on to the fact that I was catching my breath! haaa

5.  Don’t go in June/July it’s too hot.  It was gross 85-90 degrees(no breeze) my hair was wet with sweat all day….I’m not that much into nature.  I like nature in early fall or spring… we can get along at those times.  During the summer, I would rather be in an air-conditioned strip mall.

6.  Don’t wear eyeliner.  Especially hiking, unless you are trying to attract a racoon or camouflage yourself.

7.  You will get eaten by at least one bug.  Use all the repellent you want, it will still happen.

8.  Poison oak is real and you need to be careful, we saw a ton of it even on guarded walkways. 

9.  Take the time to rest your feet in the Kings River creekbed. Wow, wow, wow,  your feet and legs will feel cool for hours afterward.  It was divine!  We had a picnic there and it was perfect!  We had turkey and honey ham sandwiches, tomato and cucumber salad, fresh fruit, Coke’s with ice, and Doritos.  We go hard.  We classed that river up! haaaa 

10.  If fairies exist; they live in Giant Forrest.   Which was my most favorite place on this trip.  It was magical.  A dense mystical forest of huge old trees……just awesome!

11.  Deer were not afraid of me but I was afraid of them and my theirrrr eyes are sooo pretty!

12.  Those are some big ass trees.

13,  The tragedy is that most of the people we met were from other Countries and states.  What a shame it is that so many Californians live here full-time and never make their way to these national treasures that people come from all over the world to see. Embarrassing really…

14.  Our tour group was so diverse! Holland, Brazil, Japan, Korea, Missouri, Germany, New Zealand, London and four native Californians.

15.  None of the park bathrooms have paper towels, running water, or hand soap.  This grossed me out.  The city might smell like urine but at least you can run some water and use a paper towel. 

16.  You cannot fully appreciate and see this beautiful place in anything less than four days.  It’s impossible. You shouldn’t cheat yourself.

17.  We started at 7 a.m. and it took all day to see Boyden Cave, Sherman tree, General grant tree grove, Vista Point, and Hume lake.  We were EXHAUSTED.

18.  When you see somebody taking pictures of their family/friends ask them if they would like to be in the picture also and if you can help them by taking a pic for them!  Not one person turned me down and now they have great family photos with themselves included! 🙂  I should warn you though, you may feel the need to invest in a sweet digital camera after you’ve seen the resolution on some of those things!

19.  Until you really see this for yourself no picture can do these trees and the experience justice. I believe every person should experience the Sequoia National Park at least once in their lifetime!   I sure do hope you will make it there if you haven’t already.  Now, on to my next summer adventure………

 

 

Park 7

2 comments on “What I learned from my trip to Sequoia National Park

  1. Simone says:

    Dorrito loving horticulturalist you. Sounds like a fascinating time with a lot learnt in the process.

    • middleagedyo says:

      I should probably give up the Doritos….those steep hills made me thinking things like, “I don’t see why they couldn’t just install an elevator up this damn thing….” :p….haaa

Leave a Reply

