Lucia Rijker just can’t stop being awesome….

Anybody that knows me at all or checks out my blog, is aware that I love Lucia Rijker.  In my dreams at night, I am training to become a member of team “Rijker Striker.”  The woman is incredible.  I admire her for so many reasons beyond boxing. (I’ll go into that in detail someday) I’ve been watching Diana Prazak because Lucia is her coach and todays fight was certainly proof of that.  I have to point out, is it any coincidence that the last two women scheduled to fight Prazak have withdrawn due to “injuries.” ……?  I’m being facetious, but how do we know, it isn’t just fear? Remember when Lucia called out Christy Martin on the street because she kept making excuses not to fight her?  Did you ever see that? That was the moment I thought, “Holy crap, this woman is a badass and I want to possess that internal strength when I grow up!” (This was the 90’s)  I can’t find that video anywhere but it was awesome!  The day I do, you can be sure I will post it here!  It was terrifying, she was like a ravenous,voracious, roaring lion! I had never seen a woman as aggressive and calmly terrifying as her before that! (I loved it!) You can sense her internal focus, when eyeing what she wants, she is in complete control in that moment. They had to pull Lucia off! She was saying things like, “Let’s do it right now! What are you afraid of? Stop making excuses! I will fight you right here! You’re scared! You don’t want to fight me!”  To this day, I never got that scene out of my mind.   I wonder if Lucia would respond the same way today?  I know age is supposed to mellow a person but I feel like Lucias fire is too strong to snuff out.  I bet she will whoop ass at 80 if she needed to.  What I appreciated about the Prazak-Wallberg fight was that when Prazak hit Wallberg with a left to the face she could not recover.  The doctor checked her over and he deemed Wallberg o.k.  to continue, but Lucia insisted she was not o.k.  See, what I mean?!!  She knew better than a doctor she is that AWESOME! This woman is on point no matter what she is doing!  I feel badly for Frida, she did in fact need help and she was in surgery earlier today. (If you are a praying person please send some up for Frida Wallberg)(If you don’t pray, send vibes, karma, mojo whatever you got!) I sure do hope she is o.k. I am thankful that a strong, experienced woman like Lucia was there to speak up and say, No! she needs help now, she can’t continue!   If today is any indication, I have the feeling Lucia has a long career of coaching ahead of her…..and Diana Prazak is just getting started, I wouldn’t go to war with her!

If you can find the time to watch the interview with Lucia and Diana, do it! IT WAS WONDERFUL!! I AM SO PROUD OF THE WOMEN FORCING THIS SPORT TO EVOLVE! IT INSPIRES ME!!!!!!!!! WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! GO WOMEN!!

UPDATE AS OF JUNE 15th 2013: Frida Wallbergs boxing career is over, she can not box again due to the cerebral hemmorage she sustained. At this time, she in a medically induced coma, on a respirator, I for one, pray for her full recovery. For an in-depth article which also mentions the investigation of the ringdocs inability to see that Wallberg should not have been permitted to continue fighting click here: http://www.boxingscene.com/frida-wallberg-health-update-mishap-investigated–66664

One comment on “Lucia Rijker just can’t stop being awesome….

  1. Joe Seeber says:

    Reblogged this on joeseeberblog and commented:
    awesome post, gave you a follow.

Leave a Reply

