I’m in a remodel mode…..

I am over-hauling my house in an effort to bring some clarity into my life.  Did that sound good?….clarity into my life…  I totally stole that line from Nate Burkus.  I heard him say that once on an episode of his show.  The idea being that if we clear our space, we clear our minds, and thus invoke more clarity into our lives.  I’ll tell you what will invoke clarity into your living space, just watch an episode of hoarders.  If that show doesn’t get you cleaning and throwing stuff out; nothing will! My over-hauling  got me thinking about Tony Duquette.  That guy does not get enough credit today if you ask me.  He passed in 1999 but he really changed what is possible for home decor.  I’ve never understood why women/men decorate for other people.  They set up their homes in a way that they think would impress other people.  THIS IS YOUR HOUSE!!  Why would you hang towels that the people who live in your home can’t even use?  That is not a true living space!  Life is short, use those towels!  I love the dramatic style of Tony Duquette.  I am currently hanging satin curtains all around my bed and installing a chandelier above.  As I was doing this,  Mr. Duquette popped into my mind.  He was an amazing decorator!  I pretend I’m set designing, instead of decorating for a boring furniture store to impress the neighbors.  Look at some of this mans work!

 

He could even decorate plants for crying out loud! lol

Leave a Reply

