Thankful for a boyfriend, turkey, I mean boyfriend….

I went to a American Sign Language class today and the lecturer asked each person to explain what they were thankful for.  Before I get into that, I should explain why I was in a ASL class.  Mostly, I enrolled because the “middle finger up sign” is SOOO effective that I decided I should know more.  I want a library of hand signs to fling around when talking just wont do.  I think it is fascinating that we can communicate with other people by our facial expressions and simple things like, a finger up, fist up, love sign, smiles, etc. My class is full of mostly young women. I was astonished at the amount of young woman who said they were thankful for their boyfriends.  Are you serious?  Of all the things in the world, you are thankful for a boyfriend?  Do you know what your mother went through to get you here?  No thanks for her?  Of all of the things I’d hoped were twirling around in their cute little heads…all they got was, my boyfriend? It reminded me of that line from “This Means War” with Chelsea Handler. She says, “You think Gloria Steinem sat in a jail cell so you can act like a little B%$#@!?”  I think the worst thing any woman can do is give themselves over entirely to a boy/man/significant other.  If you lose yourself, you are finished.  When your worth is centering around a man or any significant other for that matter, you are giving that person too much power over you.  You can’t lose yourself, EVER.  Be TRUE TO YOURSELF. Example:  I overheard a bundle of girls in class saying they were omitting certain things for Thanksgiving because their boyfriends didn’t like it.  Look, let’s get something straight, If you come to my house on Thanksgiving and I love oysters; there will be oysters.  I will not sacrifice my oysters for you and do not expect you to sacrifice what you love for me.  You want spam? Get cranking with that can opener….(just keep it far away from my side of the table, however, I hope you enjoy the hell out of it!)  It is so sacrificial lamb to say, “Oh well, it’s ok, I don’t want him to have to smell it, etc. so I’m just not going to make it.” It is so shrinking violet to say, “My boyfriend doesnt like ham, so we won’t have any.” or ” I like movies but my boyfriend will be watching football, so…” Are you kidding me? I decided I am going to rebel against thanksgiving this year entirely.  I am going to make steaks and the things I really enjoy. This will be more gratifying than those annoying, smelly, big birds I’ve cooked all my life because “I was supposed to.” I want steak Gaw dammit.  And Oysters….;)

 

Leave a Reply

